TOWN OF HOPKINTON – ENERGY COMMITTEE

APPROVED PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES

THURSDAY, APRIL 13, 2023

I. Call to Order

Committee Chair Ken Traum called the meeting of the Hopkinton Energy Committee to Order at 5:32PM.

Members present: Ken Traum, Cleve Kapala, Stephen Eckberg, Jack Ruderman, Lynn Durand, Mark Zankel (telephonically).

Staff present: None.

Members of the public present: None.

Others present: Henry Herndon, representing Community Power Coalition of New Hampshire.

II. Approval of Minutes

The Committee reviewed draft minutes from the public session of the March 22, 2023, meeting. No changes or adjustments were proposed or made. Motion to approve minutes was made by Cleve Kapala, seconded by Steve Eckberg. All voted in favor, with Jack Ruderman abstaining.

The Committee reviewed the draft minutes of the non-public session of the March 22, 2023, meeting. No changes or adjustments were proposed or made. Motion to approve minutes of non-public session was made by Steve Eckberg, seconded by Lynn Durand. All voted in favor, with Jack Ruderman abstaining. A motion to seal the minutes of the non-public session indefinitely was made by Steve Eckberg, seconded by Lynn Durand. All voted in favor, with Jack Ruderman abstaining.

III. Business Items

i. Ken Traum reminded the committee that the NH Saves Button Up Workshop will be held April 26 at 6:30 pm at the Hopkinton Library.

ii. Presentation by Henry Herndon on behalf of the Community Power Coalition of NH. See attached Power Point presentation slides providing an overview of the services that CPCNH provides to towns seeking to launch a community power program, the process that is required, and the benefits of community power to town residents and businesses. Questions were asked and answered throughout Mr. Herndon's presentation. Mr. Herndon also provided a one-page summary of the four steps required for Hopkinton to establish a community power program and a copy of CPCNH's by-laws.

iii. Kast Hill Gravel Pit. As Mark Zankel had to leave the meeting, it was decided to forego discussion of options for issuing an RFP or RFQ for a solar array at the gravel pit until our next meeting.

iv. Carbon Neutrality goal/statement. Discussion of this item was also deferred to the next meeting of the committee due to Mr. Zankel's need to leave the meeting.

v. Contoocook Hydro facilities. Ken Traum stated that he had spoken with the Select Board about the process for entering into a negotiation for a new lease for the hydro facility. The Select Board has designated Mr. Traum and Town Administrator Neal Cass to be the negotiators for the town. Steve Eckberg will arrange for a tour of the hydro facility before the committee's May meeting.

vi. Potential for rooftop or ground mount solar arrays at town facilities. As Sarah Hoffman was not present, discussion of this item was deferred to next month's meeting.

vii. Renewable Energy Fund competitive grant program. Steve Eckberg has been exploring whether the town could register to earn thermal renewable energy certificates (RECs) for the heat produced by wood pellet heating systems at the fire station and the public works garage. The RECs would generate income for the town. To earn RECs each pellet system would need a Btu meter and would need to be registered with the state Department of Energy. The town could potentially apply for a grant from the Department of Energy's Renewable Energy Fund in the fall. Mr. Eckberg will look into getting some cost estimates for the Btu meters.

IV. Public Comment

None. No members of the public were present.

V. Other

Ken Traum stated that the next meeting date was Thursday, May 11 at 5:30 pm at Town Hall, with a potential optional tour of the Contoocook Hydro facility at 4 pm.

VI. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Lynn Durand and seconded by Cleve Kapala. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting was adjourned at 6:52 pm.